The American Chiropractic Association (ACA) presented its 2021 Annual Awards at its annual ACA Engage meeting last week, recognizing chiropractors and others for their exceptional service, achievement, and / or leadership within the chiropractic profession.

ACA’s highest award, Chiropractor of the Year, was presented to Karen Konarski-Hart, DC, of ​​Little Rock, Ark. Konarski-Hart has been in the management of ACA for more than 20 years and has spent a total of nine years on the Board of Directors. In addition to serving on key committees addressing public health, diversity, Medicare, and policy review, among others, she has worked tirelessly to promote the chiropractic profession in disaster relief and preparedness through both state and national levels and lectures to advance training of chiropractors for emergency response.

The Carr family of Beadle County, SD collectively received the ACA Humanitarian of the Year award for serving as community leaders during the COVID-19 pandemic. Three family members were appointed as medical directors to the Beadle County’s COVID-19 task force at the start of the pandemic, which resulted in the family being involved in setting up a call center and drive-through inspection facility in their community. The Carr family practice includes doctors Joe, Wayne, John, Josh, and Taylor Carr, as well as associate Scott Hartung.

Daniel Haun, DC, of ​​Chesterfield, Missouri, received the Academic of the Year award, which recognizes individuals for their efforts to advance the profession through academic or educational excellence. He is the Director of Resident and Fellow Education, Assistant Professor, and Faculty Member in the Department of Radiology at Logan University College of Chiropractic in Chesterfield, MO.

Kenneth A. Weber, II, DC, PhD, of Palo Alto, California, received the George B. McClelland Researcher of the Year Award, which recognizes an individual for developing, refining, and / or expanding knowledge in chiropractic has been. Weber is a postdoctoral fellow and instructor in the Department of Anaesthesiology, Perioperative, and Pain Medicine at Stanford University’s School of Medicine. He also teaches at Parker University’s Department of Neuroscience and Clinical Neuroscience in Dallas, Texas.

Margaret Freihaut, DC, of ​​Fenton, MO, received the Delegate of the Year award; and Sam Mark, DC, of ​​Scottsbluff, Neb., Received the Vice Delegate of the Year award. Both awards recognize members of the ACA House of Delegates who have demonstrated exceptional service, achievement and / or leadership.

Daniel Schatzberg, DC, of ​​Media, Pennsylvania, received the Flynn Lynch Award, which recognizes an outstanding member with no more than five years of experience in the House of Delegates.

ACA Engage is the premier national conference for chiropractic doctors, chiropractic assistants and students. It has a long history of bringing together industry leaders from across the country to meet with members of Congress on Capitol Hill and advance chiropractic legislation. The conference also features a solid educational program (CE credits available), speeches from respected thought leaders, and panel discussions on topics relevant to the chiropractic profession.

Via the American Chiropractic Association
The American Chiropractic Association (ACA) is the largest professional chiropractic organization in the United States. ACA attracts the most principled and accomplished chiropractors who understand that it takes more to be called an ACA chiropractor. We conduct our profession in the most constructive and far-reaching ways – working hand in hand with other health care professionals, advocating for chiropractic laws and guidelines, supporting meaningful research, and using that research to inform about our treatment practices. We also offer professional and educational opportunities to all of our members and are committed to being a positive and unifying force for the practice of modern chiropractic. To learn more, visit