CHESTERFIELD, MO. – It’s been 30 years since the Chesterfield Police Department presented their highest honor.

On Monday, three police officers were honored with the Distinguished Service Citation for Valor for their roles in a dramatic rescue at Chesterfield City Hall.

On September 23, 2020, six officers responded to a single vehicle accident at Block 14300 on Olive Boulevard, finding that a man had been partially ejected from the car but was entangled in the engine compartment wiring and unable to move.

Excellent service quote for bravery

The car went up in flames as a result of the accident.

The six officers braved the flames to cut the wires that hold the man in place. They managed to rescue the man, who was taken to a local hospital in critical condition.

This man continues to recover from the accident.

Ray Johnson, Chesterfield Police Chief, awarded officers Andrew Mattaline, Devin Kitrel and Ryan Broeker the Distinguished Service Citation. Johnson also awarded Sgt. Teresa Koebbe and officers Zachary Ty Seeger and Mathew Niemeier.

Close modally

Suggest a correction